Roberta on the Arts
Bossa Brasil and Maurício de Souza Group: Here. There…
Contact Roberta
Jazz and Cabaret Corner
On Location with Roberta
In the Galleries: Artists and Photographers
Backstage with the Playwrights and Filmmakers
Classical and Cultural Connections
New CDs
Arts and Education
Onstage with the Dancers
Offstage with the Dancers
Upcoming Events
Special Events
Culture from Chicago
Our Sponsors

Bossa Brasil and Maurício de Souza Group: Here. There…

- CD Reviews

One Taste Is All It Takes!
For 11 Convenient NY Locations
Recipes, Catering, and Weekly Specials!

Bossa Brasil and Maurício de Souza Group: Here. There…
2010 Pulsa Music


Maurício de Souza on Drums
Mike Stern on Guitar
Andrew Beals on Alto Saxophone
Gregory Rivkin on Trumpet and Flugelhorn
Noah Haidu on Piano
Carl Viggiani on Piano
Jerry Weir on Vibraphone
Morrie Louden on Bass

Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower
April 1, 2013

Maurício de Souza has divided this CD into two band ensembles, with the first six tracks by Bossa Brasil and the remaining five tracks by Maurício de Souza Group. The musicians shift between the two genres. Compositions include the title track, a de Souza original, as well as tracks composed by Edu Lobo, Chick Corea, and Cedar Walton, among an impressive group of artists. The notable four tracks below were chosen purely for their intriguing mélange of musicians.

Notable Tracks:

#1 – Bebê - Composed by Heremto Pascoal. This captivating track highlights Jerry Weir on vibraphone and Carl Viggiani on piano, who share the lively theme, merging harmonies and overlapping trills. Throughout the recording, de Souza accompanies or solos on drums, and here he provided percussive flourish and vibrancy.

#6 – Consolação - Composed by Baden Powell and Vinicius de Moraes. De Souza stars here on pulsating Latin percussion, in combo with Morrie Loudon on bass. Louden is heard throughout the recording, as is de Souza, and their endless riff on this track showcases de Souza’s talent and versatility. The brass sits this track out, but Viggiani adds a melody to the bounce and brio.

#7 - Here. There… - Composed by Maurício de Souza. This title track by de Souza features Andrew Beals on alto sax and Gregory Rivkin on trumpet, plus Weir on vibraphone. This track exudes smooth fused brass, vibes, drum, and bass harmonies with contemporary caché. De Souza drives the momentum with his jazzy drums.

#9 - I Can’t Get Started - Composed by Vernon Duke and Ira Gershwin. This popular ballad is fragmented here with richly drawn themes on sax, trumpet, and vibes. Noah Haidu is featured on piano, for ambient tonalities, while the brassy bluesy theme adds mesmerizing leisurely bliss.

For more information, contact Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower at