Roberta on the Arts
Joris Teepe Big Band: We Take No Prisoners
Contact Roberta
Jazz and Cabaret Corner
On Location with Roberta
In the Galleries: Artists and Photographers
Backstage with the Playwrights and Filmmakers
Classical and Cultural Connections
New CDs
Arts and Education
Onstage with the Dancers
Offstage with the Dancers
Upcoming Events
Special Events
Culture from Chicago
Our Sponsors

Joris Teepe Big Band: We Take No Prisoners

- CD Reviews

Divine Moving

NYC-BASED High Quality Relocations.
Also Serve Tri-State and Beyond.
Professional, Educated, Dedicated.
White-Glove Treatment
Ask for David

Joris Teepe Big Band: We Take No Prisoners

Trumpets: Michael P. Mossman, John Eckert,
Vitaly Golovnev, Josh Evans
Trombones: Noah Bless, Dion Tucker,
Stafford Hunter, Earl McIntyre
Reeds: Mark Gross, Craig Bailey, Don Braden,
Peter Brainin, Adam Kolker, Jason Marshall
Piano: Jon Davis
Guitar: Bruce Arnold
Bass: Joris Teepe
Drums: Gene Jackson, Rashied Ali (Guest)

Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower
September 7, 2013

This CD is a selection of music, composed and arranged by Joris Teepe, bassist. The sound is filled with contrasts, at times balletic, at times Latin clavé, and at times contemporary, atonal. It invites choreographers in the music community to score a modern ballet with one of these charged, dynamic, and freshly conceived pieces. In fact, each track is six to thirteen minutes, featuring the expansive ensemble listed above, most of whom have renowned status in international jazz clubs and festivals.

All tracks composed and arranged by Joris Teepe.

Notable tracks:

#2 – We Take no Prisoners. This music is exciting, with passages for trombones, horns, and full brassy swing, as well as buoyant solos. The sound is uplifting and impressive, as Joris Teepe has arranged this original music with outstanding ornamentations and flashy flourishes.

#3 – Peace on Earth. The melancholy introduction is deceiving, as the music builds in volume and edge. Eerie, electronic strings take on incredible fascination, amidst racing horns and vibrant percussion. The tonality is full, with a decidedly urban vibe.

#5 – It Is Peculiar. Featured solos on this blazing, brassy track are from John Eckert, Don Braden, and Joris Teepe. Teepe’s bubbly bass riff is accompanied by repetitive, rhythmic drums, before the full big band grabs the finale. The trumpet and sax solos are filled with effusive energy and compelling clarity.

#6 – The Princess and the Monster. Teepe’s introductory and intermittent bass solos seem to narrate a fantasy tale, in this exceptional work, inviting the listener to stay with this over 13-minute track. Gene Jackson imbues the sound with robust percussion, while Jon Davis plays a semi-classical piano interlude. This classy composition could easily serve as a score for dance or film. .

For more information, contact Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower at